Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com
New and Used Books Purchase Online Secure!    
 
     
   
     
NEWSLETTER
   
 
SHOPPING CART
 
BOOK CATEGORIES
 
 
Author Interviews in the Spotlight
Rebecca Brooks
Lyndsay McKenna
Karen Harper
Sarah MacLean
Darynda Jones
 
 
Reviews in the Spotlight
The Book of Summer
Death in Dark Blue
Party Girls Die in Pearls
Your Killin' Heart
The Jane Austen Project
Murder In Matera
 
 

See Larger
Dead Letters: A Novel
By: Caite Dolan-Leach
List Price: $27.00
Your Price: $16.03
(as of: 06/26/17)
Manufacturer: Random House
ISBN: 039958885X
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Release Date 2017-02-21
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours


Add Dead Letters: A Novel by Caite Dolan-Leach to your shopping cart
Customers Also Bought
 
The Roanoke Girls: A Novel
By: Amy Engel
List Price: $25.00
Your Price: $15.13
Manufacturer: Crown
Learn More...
Didn't see what you were looking for? Try our Advanced Search

Product Description:

A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel that will keep you guessing until the end—for readers of Gone Girl and The Girl Before.

“Ahoy, Ava! Welcome home, my sweet jet-setting twin! So glad you were able to wrest yourself away from your dazzling life in the City of Light; I hope my ‘death’ hasn’t interrupted anything too crucial.”

Ava Antipova has her reasons for running away: a failing family vineyard, a romantic betrayal, a mercurial sister, an absent father, a mother slipping into dementia. In Paris, Ava renounces her terribly practical undergraduate degree, acquires a French boyfriend and a taste for much better wine, and erases her past. Two years later, she must return to upstate New York. Her twin sister, Zelda, is dead.

Even in a family of alcoholics, Zelda Antipova was the wild one, notorious for her mind games and destructive behavior. Stuck tending the vineyard and the girls’ increasingly unstable mother, Zelda was allegedly burned alive when she passed out in the barn with a lit cigarette. But Ava finds the official explanation a little too neat. A little too Zelda. Then she receives a cryptic message—from her sister.

Just as Ava suspected, Zelda’s playing one of her games. In fact, she’s outdone herself, leaving a series of clues about her disappearance. With the police stuck on a red herring, Ava follows the trail laid just for her, thinking like her sister, keeping her secrets, immersing herself in Zelda’s drama and her outlandish circle of friends and lovers. Along the way, Zelda forces her twin to confront their twisted history and the boy who broke Ava’s heart. But why? Is Zelda trying to punish Ava for leaving, or to teach her a lesson? Or is she simply trying to write her own ending?

Featuring a colorful, raucous cast of characters, Caite Dolan-Leach’s debut thriller takes readers on a literary scavenger hunt for clues concealed throughout the seemingly idyllic wine country, hidden in plain sight on social media, and buried at the heart of one tremendously dysfunctional, utterly unforgettable family.

New and noteworthy in USA Today!

“Dolan-Leach’s clever thriller explores the fraying ties that bind twin sisters. . . . Readers will enjoy this full-bodied novel about a family of vintners.”The New York Times Book Review

“The disappearance of Ava’s wild-child twin is just the beginning of this roller-coaster read that’s as enthralling as it is WTF?!”Cosmopolitan

“Ava, the star of this atmospheric debut, isn’t convinced her calculating twin sister, Zelda, is really dead—especially after she starts getting enigmatic emails from Zelda’s account, propelling her on a complicated hunt for the truth.”Entertainment Weekly (“The Must List”)

“We do love a good mystery, and Dolan-Leach’s debut novel is a prime example of the form. . . . Dead Letters centers around the most dysfunctional of families, and reading it feels like embarking on a literary scavenger hunt that you never want to end.”—Nylon

“Dolan-Leach’s debut reads like an Agatha Christie novel set in a world with internet access. . . . The action unfolds with a kind of playful theatricality and cleverness that is totally and utterly engrossing.”i-D (Vice)

“Dolan-Leach nimbly entwines the clever mystery of Agatha Christie, the wit of Dorothy Parker, and the inebriated Gothic of Eugene O’Neill.”Kirkus Reviews



When her twin sister Zelda vanishes right after the barn in which she spent much of her days burns down, everyone except Ava Antipova fears the worst. Even though it has been two years since Ava last saw Zelda, Ava can’t believe Zelda is really dead especially once Ava arrives back at the family farm/winery in the Finger Lakes region of New York and begins receiving emailed letters from Zelda inviting her to “play” her latest game of hide and seek. Now stuck trying to deal with an alcoholic mother slowly slipping away into dementia, a father who traded up for a new and improved second family, and old boyfriend who seems to have been keeping very busy with Zelda while Ava was gone, Ava begins trying to decode the letters Zelda sends in that hopes that she may be able to not only discover exactly what happened to her sister but also what that means for her own future.

Readers will find themselves absolutely mesmerized by this stunning debut that brilliantly mixes the fiendishly clever plot twists and can-she-be-trusted kind of narration found in Gone Girl and its many recent literary clones with the nuanced characterization and elegant writing style of someone like Donna Tartt. Fans of sophisticated, polished suspense will definitely consider Dolan-Leach's book to be one of the best literary finds of 2017.

 
By: John Charles, ReaderToReader.com


 
     
 
Contact Us|| Privacy Page|| Review Staff|| About Us|| Terms of Use|| NPOB and Amazon
 
Reader To Reader
25111 E Sunset Meadows Loop - Kennewick WA 99338
E-mail: info@ReaderToReader.com
Copyright © 2017