Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com
New and Used Books Purchase Online Secure!    
 
     
   
     
NEWSLETTER
   
 
SHOPPING CART
 
BOOK CATEGORIES
 
 
Author Interviews in the Spotlight
Rebecca Brooks
Lyndsay McKenna
Karen Harper
Sarah MacLean
Darynda Jones
 
 
Reviews in the Spotlight
Leave The Night On
Persons Unknown
 
 

See Larger
Missing, Presumed: A Novel
By: Susie Steiner
List Price: $27.00
Your Price: $14.69
(as of: 08/23/17)
Manufacturer: Random House
ISBN: 0812998324
Publication Date: 2016-06-28
Release Date 2016-06-28
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours


Add Missing, Presumed: A Novel by Susie Steiner to your shopping cart
Customers Also Bought
 
Persons Unknown: A Novel
By: Susie Steiner
List Price: $27.00
Your Price: $17.06
Manufacturer: Random House
Learn More...
Didn't see what you were looking for? Try our Advanced Search

Product Description:

A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice • A page-turning mystery that brings to life a complex and strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • NAMED ONE OF THE 10 BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR BY THE WALL STREET JOURNAL

“An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George.”—Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer

“Surprise-filled . . . one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year. Detective Bradshaw’s biting wit is a bonus.”The Wall Street Journal

Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over it.”Redbook

“A highly charismatic and engaging story.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French.”Booklist

At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep—and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene.

Edith Hind—a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family—has been missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big—and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive.

The investigation starts with Edith’s loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith’s tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to her disappearance. With no clear leads, Manon summons every last bit of her skill and intuition to close the case, and what she discovers will have shocking consequences not just for Edith’s family but for Manon herself.

Suspenseful and keenly observed, Missing, Presumed is a brilliantly twisting novel of how we seek connection, grant forgiveness, and reveal the truth about who we are.

Praise for Missing, Presumed

“Smart, stylish . . . Manon is portrayed with an irresistible blend of sympathy and snark. By the time she hits bottom, professionally and privately, we’re entirely caught up in her story.”The New York Times Book Review

“Nuanced suspense that’s perfect for Kate Atkinson fans.”People

“Drenched in character and setting, with pinpoint detail that breathes life and color into every sentence.”The News & Observer

“You might come to Missing, Presumed for the police procedural; you’ll stay for the layered, authentic characters that Steiner brings to life.”—Bethanne Patrick, NPR

“Where [Susie] Steiner excels is in the depth and clarity with which she depicts her characters. . . . It all adds up to a world that feels much bigger than the novel in which it is contained.”The Guardian



A high profile missing persons case is the last thing Detective Sergeant Manon Bradshaw anticipates as she hears the call on the police radio, but that is exactly what has landed square in her lap. A young, beautiful and successful daughter of a high-profile couple has gone missing, and all signs point to possible abduction, if not murder.

There is a cast of likely suspects, but no one seems to fit the role perfectly. Manon and her colleagues investigate further, casting their net wider and wider until a particularly painful incident makes Manon even more determined to draw a final conclusion between the pieces drifting about in the sea of inquiry detritus. It’s there, this tenuous link that may be the clue the team has been looking for . . . but the real answers lie deeper, and in a direction no one has anticipated.

Missing, Presumed is told through multiple points of view, from the police officers involved in the inquiry to the mother of the victim. The various perspectives spiral together then spin off from one another, which serves not only to advance the plot but also to create empathy for all sides involved in the case. Time passes with an intensity that seems effortless, adding to the sense of urgency as the story unfolds towards an unexpected series of events and conclusions. Manon Bradshaw is at turns complex and base, brilliantly flawed as the best fictional detectives often seem to be. Missing, Presumed is creatively suspenseful, a wonderfully readable mystery, especially for fans of British police procedurals. Well done!

 
By: Joyce Greenfield, ReaderToReader.com


 
     
 
Contact Us|| Privacy Page|| Review Staff|| About Us|| Terms of Use|| NPOB and Amazon
 
Reader To Reader
25111 E Sunset Meadows Loop - Kennewick WA 99338
E-mail: info@ReaderToReader.com
Copyright © 2017