Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com
New and Used Books Purchase Online Secure!    
 
     
   
     
NEWSLETTER
   
 
SHOPPING CART
 
BOOK CATEGORIES
 
 
Author Interviews in the Spotlight
Rebecca Brooks
Lyndsay McKenna
Karen Harper
Sarah MacLean
Darynda Jones
 
 
Reviews in the Spotlight
A Spark of Light
The Exes' Revenge
The Stylist
 
 

See Larger
Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel
By: AJ Pearce
List Price: $26.00
Your Price: $17.10
(as of: 12/16/18)
Manufacturer: Scribner
ISBN: 1501170066
Publication Date: 2018-07-03
Release Date 2018-07-03
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours


Add Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel by AJ Pearce to your shopping cart

Product Description:

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are doing their bit for the war effort and trying to stay cheerful, despite the German planes making their nightly raids. Emmy dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent, and when she spots a job advertisement in the newspaper she seizes her chance; but after a rather unfortunate misunderstanding, she finds herself typing letters for the formidable Henrietta Bird, renowned advice columnist of Woman’s Friend magazine.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight into the bin. But as Emmy reads the desperate pleas from women who many have Gone Too Far with the wrong man, or can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she begins to secretly write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

“Fans of Jojo Moyes will enjoy AJ Pearce’s debut, with its plucky female characters and fresh portrait of women’s lives in wartime Britain” (Library Journal)—a love letter to the enduring power of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and the courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times. “Headlined by its winning lead character, who always keeps carrying on, Pearce's novel is a delight” (Publishers Weekly). Irrepressibly funny and enormously moving, Dear Mrs. Bird is “funny and poignant…about the strength of women and the importance of friendship” (Star Tribune, Minneapolis).


Amazon.com Review:

An Amazon Best Book of July 2018: In this funny, uplifting novel set during the London Blitz, first-time author AJ Pearce shows herself to be a master of wartime vernacular speech and period charm. Though Emmeline Lake, Pearce’s outspoken narrator, dreams of becoming a serious journalist, she rashly accepts a job as junior secretary to “Mrs. Bird,” a women’s advice columnist whose views on behavior are as outmoded as her tweeds. Mrs. Bird won’t deign to reply to readers with real-world problems, but Emmeline can’t resist offering them the support she knows they need. Before long, she’s writing back on her employer’s stationary, and her well-intentioned counsel begins to threaten her relationships at work and at home. Nighttime bombing raids bring danger and pathos to this otherwise giddy, delectable story. If you enjoyed Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand or Chris Cleave’s Everyone Brave is Forgiven, Dear Mrs. Bird might be your favorite book of the summer. —Sarah Harrison Smith, Amazon Book Review


 
     
 
Contact Us|| Privacy Page|| Review Staff|| About Us|| Terms of Use|| NPOB and Amazon
 
Reader To Reader
25111 E Sunset Meadows Loop - Kennewick WA 99338
E-mail: info@ReaderToReader.com
Copyright © 2018