Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com
New and Used Books Purchase Online Secure!    
 
     
   
     
NEWSLETTER
   
 
SHOPPING CART
 
BOOK CATEGORIES
 
 
Author Interviews in the Spotlight
Rebecca Brooks
Lyndsay McKenna
Karen Harper
Sarah MacLean
Darynda Jones
 
 
Reviews in the Spotlight
Leave The Night On
Persons Unknown
 
 

See Larger
Inheriting Edith: A Novel
By: Zoe Fishman
List Price: $15.99
Your Price: $10.52
(as of: 08/18/17)
Manufacturer: William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN: 0062378740
Publication Date: 2016-10-18
Release Date 2016-10-18
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours


Add Inheriting Edith: A Novel by Zoe Fishman to your shopping cart
Customers Also Bought
 
Sweet Tea Tuesdays
By: Ashley Farley
List Price: $14.99
Your Price: $14.99
Manufacturer: Bublish, Incorporated
Learn More...
Didn't see what you were looking for? Try our Advanced Search

Product Description:

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat—she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.

For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping, and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance. A house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: The deceased’s eighty-two-year old mother Edith.

Edith has Alzheimer’s—or so the doctors tell her—but she remembers exactly how her daughter Liza could light up a room, or bring dark clouds in her wake. And now Liza’s gone, by her own hand, and Edith has been left—like a chaise or strand of pearls—to a poorly dressed young woman with a toddler in tow.

Maggie and Edith are both certain this arrangement will be an utter disaster. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she’s held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.



Maggie Sheets knows there has to be a catch. It has been four years since she even spoke with Liza Brennan so why on earth would Liza leave Maggie her fabulous home in Sag Harbor? Once Maggie meets with Liza’s lawyer, she realizes she is right when the man informs her that Liza’s home comes with an unexpected additional feature: Liza’s eighty-two-year-old mother Edith. Having been recently diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, Edith needs someone around who can watch over her. Maggie already has an energetic two-year-old daughter Lucy, who keeps her very busy. So the last thing Maggie needs is another person to take care of. But Maggie really can’t afford to turn down the bequest, which means she must find some way of striking a domestic truce with the curmudgeonly old lady.

Told from the alternating viewpoints of both Maggie and Edith, this beautifully written novel is at times humorous, heartbreaking, hopeful, and heartwarming as Fishman tackles some tough subjects with a deft and light literary touch. In addition to her two memorable protagonists, Fishman also gifts readers with a delightful, well-conceived cast of secondary characters including Edith’s best friend Esther and a potential romantic interest for Maggie in the person of divorced father and toy store owner Sam. Practically perfect in every way, Inheriting Edith is an unforgettable story about friendship, family and love.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
By: John Charles, ReaderToReader.com


 
     
 
Contact Us|| Privacy Page|| Review Staff|| About Us|| Terms of Use|| NPOB and Amazon
 
Reader To Reader
25111 E Sunset Meadows Loop - Kennewick WA 99338
E-mail: info@ReaderToReader.com
Copyright © 2017