Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com Home Page ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com New releases at ReadertoReader.com Book Reviews, find your genre Author Interviews, find interesting tidbits about your favorite author or books Contact ReadertoReader.com and ReadertoReader.com
New and Used Books Purchase Online Secure!    
 
     
   
     
NEWSLETTER
   
 
SHOPPING CART
 
BOOK CATEGORIES
 
 
Author Interviews in the Spotlight
Rebecca Brooks
Lyndsay McKenna
Karen Harper
Sarah MacLean
Darynda Jones
 
 
Reviews in the Spotlight
Leave The Night On
Persons Unknown
 
 

See Larger
The Girl in the Castle: A Novel (Deverill Chronicles)
By: Santa Montefiore
List Price: $14.99
Your Price: $9.63
(as of: 08/18/17)
Manufacturer: William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN: 0062456857
Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Release Date 2016-09-27
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours


Add The Girl in the Castle: A Novel (Deverill Chronicles) by Santa Montefiore to your shopping cart
Customers Also Bought
 
Daughters of Castle Deverill
By: Santa Montefiore
List Price: Price Not Listed
Your Price: $12.97
Manufacturer: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Learn More...
Didn't see what you were looking for? Try our Advanced Search

Product Description:

Ireland. The early twentieth century.

 

Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war.

 

Read their story — and see why JOJO MOYES says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore." 

 

Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland — the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love...

 

Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can’t help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.

 

As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight — and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But , her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she’s ever known are threatened.

 

A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland — perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON.

 

Previously published as The Girl in the Castle



Nine year old Kitty Deverill sees ghosts, specifically her cursed ancestor, Burton Deverill. Unwanted and unloved by her mother, Kitty passes her days under the guidance of a stern governess, and takes great joy in her friendship with the cook’s daughter, Bridie Doyle, and their friend, Jack, son of the local veterinarian. Years pass and World War I begins, changing Kitty’s family and day to day life in many ways. Things will never be the same, but Kitty has yet to discover that.

The War ends, but the conflict between Ireland and England escalates, putting Kitty’s British family at the center of anti-British sentiments. Kitty’s strength and resolve are sorely tested, but her love for Ireland, her home, remains the foundation of her life, the core of her existence. In the meantime, Bridie’s life takes a drastic turn, then yet another, taking her far away from her beloved home and those she loves most. Jack is swept up in the Irish Independence movement, an involvement that will change the course of his life, and Kitty’s as well.

Years pass and life goes on. Kitty and Bridie have both been away from the land they call home, and as each woman makes her way back to Ireland, they learn the fate of those they love and care for, including Jack. Kitty’s family has experienced great loss, while Bridie’s fortunes have changed quite dramatically. “You can’t go home again” could well be the phrase that describes the post-war years for the childhood friends, yet their roots extend deep, grounding them firmly in the hills of Ireland.

The Girl in the Castle is the first in author Santa Montefiore’s series “The Deverril Chronicles.” Part historical romance, part family saga, the story doesn’t quite settle into either niche, but that’s okay—the cast of characters is broad and interesting, and the location and timeframe couldn’t be any better. Irish history is rich and compelling, and the Deverill family brings that history to life on the page, from prosperity to poverty, the fight for Ireland’s independence from England, and the changing social norms of post-World War I Europe and America. Many ends are left dangling, promising lots to come in this absolutely delicious series!

 
By: Joyce Greenfield, ReaderToReader.com


 
     
 
Contact Us|| Privacy Page|| Review Staff|| About Us|| Terms of Use|| NPOB and Amazon
 
Reader To Reader
25111 E Sunset Meadows Loop - Kennewick WA 99338
E-mail: info@ReaderToReader.com
Copyright © 2017